Yet another post.

In the middle of OPW internship

I originally thought taking part in FOSSOPW is a great chance to lift my coding skills and I shouldn’t miss it. As time passes by, I now have a new thought towards it.

# 1 It do improves your coding skill.

Zack, Matthieu and I often have discussions on coding style. For example, once Zack said, “For code like this, you should explicitly use an if/else clause, not if-return.” I was totally unaware of this sort of issue. Actually I even didn’t know how I should call this problem. Matthieu gave me a detailed FYI link on this in no time.

Besides, my completeness of thinking is also trained. Recently, I was fixing a “HTTP GET Method ?suite=suite-name” issue. It’s a trivial task. And you know most trivial tasks require lots of scattered modification on the source code base. I did have fixed most places, such as the pages of “/src/packagename” and “/search/”. Zack did a thorough review, and pointed out that the pages rendered by “/prefix” has some malformed urls in the HTML. Waiiiit, I should have noticed it. But somehow I missed it. Maybe because my mind was wandering at that time? This made me think, I shall have a thorough view of what I should do before getting my hands dirty. Or more preferably, if I could write down what I exactly want to achieve before coding, then silly problems definitely wouldn’t occur. This may sound a little bit like TDD. ;).

# 2 It makes you look like a (not-that-good) ninja.

I use a macbook. It’s not my fault! I’ve tried several times, but I never successfully find a laptop that is not capable of boiling eggs when running Debian. (and especially KDE+Debian). So I have no way but switched to OSX. The development of Debsources happens on a remote Ubuntu LTS (now Debian SID, haha) virtual machine. Of course I have to install all the dependency on my own, e.g., Postgres, set up port-forwarding, e.g., ssh -D, write automate shell scripts, e.g., dash, but more importantly, I am forced to live under the dark terminal with no GUI. You know the feeling when pain hurts? Yes, exactly! But I survived. How shall I call myself now? A dedicated with-a-lot-of-useless-plugin-installed vimmer? A fond-of-fancy-window tmux-er? Yep, both. I finally found a comfort zone under the black-white-blinking screen. I wonder how people feel when they see a girl hanging out in the library, facing a full-screened black console, typing at a speed of 140wpm (Yeah, I am kidding). I don’t know, but please don’t call me a geek. Show me your respect, I am a ninja!

# 3 It tells you communication is the most important.

I bet anyone who has participated in a group-based project would understand what I mean. For one perspective, communication helps to eliminate misunderstanding. So I won’t doing some useless stuff for all day and finally find out that it totally doesn’t meet the requirement. On the other hand, it speeds up your learning process. I often have problems on git. So in the email I will complain if I mess up with the git repo. After a short while, my dear mentors will reply in detail on how to correctly do the git stuff.

My OPW journey is cool! ;).

4 thoughts on “Yet another post.

  1. Martin says:

    I never had a Macbook nor a laptop that got too hot: Most of the time ThinkPad, before that Siemens and others. It would not be painful for me to work with tmux, ssh and friends, but it would very painful for me to work with a non-free OS. YMMV.

    Like

    • aha. I heard they say Thinkpad is linux-friendly. But I never bought one, my previous laptops were Lenovo, Dell and a Compact HP. Yep, I am also no longer painful in tmux and its friends. Instead it’s quite handy. Regarding OSX, yes YMMV. But I get most I want from OSX, a unified-looking, stable GUI (desktop manager, file manager, etc). OSX has its own package management system, e.g., homebrew, but of course it’s not as comprehensive as Debian’s. And I miss lots of linux-only software. That’s why tmux+ssh is cool, I guess.

      Like

Leave a comment