Less is More

Things haven’t gone well recently.

I have been working on refactoring stuff for the past two or three weeks. At first, I found it much more exciting and interesting than merely fixing minor bugs. So I worked on most parts of the codebase, and made lots of changes.

It took me much more time and energy to do all this stuff. But sadly, the more energy results in a more broken codebase. It seems all these efforts are a waste since the code is no longer be able to be merged. It was very frustrating.

Get back on track

Well, I guess such trials and failures are just inevitable on the way towards an experienced developer. Despite all the divergences and dismay I have gone through, my internship must be back on track.

I am now more realistic. My first and foremost task is to GET THINGS DONE by focusing on small and doable changes. Although it seems the improvement is LESS, but it means MORE to have a not-so-perfect finished-product (in my view), rather than a to-be-perfect messy.

Journey continues.

Leave a Reply

